Employment Development Department (EDD)
The Employment Development Department (EDD) is one of the largest state departments with employees at hundreds of service locations throughout the state. For more than 70 years, we have connected millions of job seekers and employers in an effort to build the economy of the Golden State.
General Information: 800-300-5616
Hearing Impaired: 800-815-9387
File for Disability
The California State Disability Insurance (SDI) program provides short-term Disability Insurance (DI) benefits to eligible workers who need time off work. You may be eligible for DI if you are unable to work due to non-work-related illness or injury.
General Information: 800-480-3287
File for Paid Family Leave
California State provides Paid Family Leave (PFL) wage replacement benefits to eligible workers who need time off work. You may be eligible for DI if you are unable to work due to pregnancy or childbirth.
General Information: 877-238-4373
Frequently Asked Questions
Do not use any features that automatically fill your personal information to complete the online application, such as Google’s Autofill, Internet Explorer’s AutoComplete, or other similar features. If such features are used, it will cause entries in your online application to be incorrect. For best results, use the latest version of Internet Explorer, Google Chrome or Safari.
A Standard Base Period includes wages from a 12-month period of time consisting of the first four of the last five completed calendar quarters.
| If your claim begins in:
|| Your Standard Base Period is the prior 12 months,
ending the last day of:
The effective date of your UI claim is based on the date you file your claim online or the date you first contact the Employment Development Department (EDD). The effective date determines your base period, and as a result, your benefit amount. A base period is a 12-month period of earnings, divided into quarters. The base period is used to establish a claim and calculate an award. You may wish to review your wages during each quarter of the base period to determine the best time to file. You will not receive any benefits until you actually submit an application or call EDD to file a claim.
To establish a valid claim, you must have earned at least (1) $1300 in one quarter of your base period, or (2) at least $900 in your highest quarter and total base period earnings of 1.25 times your high quarter earnings.
EDD Office Locator. Governor. Edmund G. Brown, Jr. Visit His Website. LWDA Secretary. David M. Lanier. View His Biography. EDD Director. Patrick W. Henning. http://www.edd.ca.gov/
The Employment Development Department automated some key services to provide customers with more online options. http://www.edd.ca.gov/About_EDD/Online_Services.htm
If you have questions, comments, or suggestions about our website, department, your personal information, or an individual within the EDD, there are several ... http://www.edd.ca.gov/About_EDD/Contact_EDD.htm
Information for your EDD Debit CardSM can be obtained online at the Bank of America EDD Debit Card website. We apologize for any inconvenience you may ... http://www.edd.ca.gov/Disability/Disability_Insurance.htm
New State Law: Electronic File and Pay Requirement. Employers with 10 or more employees are now required to electronically submit employment tax returns, ... http://www.edd.ca.gov/Employer_Services.htm
The EDD manages the Unemployment Insurance (UI) and State Disability Insurance (SDI) programs for the State of California. SDI includes both Disability ... http://www.edd.ca.gov/File_and_Manage_a_Claim.htm
During this period, you may access information on your last payment issued, certify for continued benefits using EDD Tele-CertSM and get general information ... http://www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/UI_Online.htm
During this period, you may access information on your last payment issued, certify for continued benefits using EDD Tele-CertSM and get general information ... http://www.edd.ca.gov/unemployment/